Molly Makes Gwyneth’s Mexican Chopped Salad with Mexican Green Goddess Dressing

Damn you @gwynethpaltrow and your amazing Mexican Chopped Salad with Mexican Green Goddess Dressing #itsallgood

A post shared by molly jackson (@mollytics) on

“Damn you @gwynethpaltrow and your amazing Mexican Chopped Salad with Mexican Green Goddess Dressing #itsallgood”

But first, a bit about my Monday afternoon/evening.

I didn’t go to Opening Day for the Orioles for the first time in a good long while. That’s totally on me, but it was more of a bummer than I thought it would be. Still, I listened to the game on AM radio (yes, people still do that) and then got home just in time to catch the bottom of the 8 and the rest of the game. A win is a wonderful way to start off the season – good job boys!

I look forward to more of this, as I certainly missed Missy, too:
Adam Jones dog Missy

ANYWAY. SALAD. MY EVENING.

After the game ended, I changed into workout clothes and drove down to Locust Point for some Harris Teetering and then a new-to-me 60 minute class at my current favorite place in the world: Rev Cycle Studio (more on that in a future post). I had to buy the ingredients for my salad, after all: the Mexican Chopped Salad with Mexican Green Goddess Dressing (link to another blog who has the recipe). I was so proud of myself for bringing a cooler so the goods would stay fresh and clean while I was sweating my heart out.

The timing worked perfectly, the workout kicked my butt hard (thanks Jami!) and I was soon on my way back home… to shower then make dinner. At 9:45 p.m.

Why did I share all of this? I needed to underscore how delicious this salad is, and why it is totally worth making, consuming and blogging about in the span of two hours. SO. GOOD.

Now look – I realize the fact that I have to follow a recipe to make a salad gives you a good idea of where my kitchen skills fall on the spectrum, but don’t let that deter you from trying this recipe. It actually did make four servings, so I love that I have extra for future meals.

As far as recipe modifications go… I substituted nonfat Greek yogurt for Vegenaise (because Harris Teeter doesn’t sell it and frankly, I don’t think I could stomach it) and doubled the amount of jalapeno required because SPICY! Other than that, I followed the rest to the letter. (That’s a lie. I also didn’t steam, roast or grill my corn because it was 9:45 p.m. and I was hungry. So I used canned corn. So sue me.)

This will last me a couple of days, but just to tempt you and keep my taste buds ready, you should know that the next salad I will make from It’s All Good is the Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad with Carrot-Ginger Dressing. Hell yeah.

What do you think? Share!

