Baltimore Half Marathon Training 2013: Week 2

When in doubt, #snakes in #tophats. Right @ead245? #iamthebestnotetaker

A post shared by molly jackson (@mollytics) on

(When in doubt: snakes in top hats)

“Anybody can be a runner. We were meant to move. We were meant to run. It’s the easiest sport.”
– Bill Rodgers

This week was less-than ideal in all ways. I failed at allergy-management… which lead to failing at the first three days of the work week, I didn’t get all my workouts in, my “long run” left much to be desired and I didn’t get to the library to pick up that dang library hold. For some reason, the last one bothers me the most.

HEY NOW, DIVERGENT WON’T READ ITSELF!

I didn’t work out on Tuesday, and I rescheduled Wednesday’s workout for Thursday, but I sure did take a rest day on Friday. Rest from what, you ask? Is “THE HEAT” a sufficient answer? And then today, I had a big old long-walk-on-the-beach fail (which was changed into a yoga fail when I decided not to go to the beach) because Artscape was in my way and I circled around 30 minutes looking for parking. Sure – I could have gone to another class at another time, but again, I tell you, THE WALKING DEAD WON’T WATCH ITSELF!

My priorities clearly need a talking to.

So, in the spirit of getting my priorities back in line, THE HEAT WAVE IS OVER and IT’S A NEW WEEK Y’ALL, it’s time for setting intentions, aka “Say It, Do It,” aka SIDI for the upcoming week:

  • Monday: 3 mile run
  • Tuesday: hill repeats!
  • Wednesday: #TruetTime
  • Thursday: 3 miles with 1 mile at HM (half marathon) pace… AKA Thursdays in the Park with Emily (wherein I do my tempo run and help get my friend Emily ready as she preps to train for her first half marathon EVER!)
  • Friday: REST DAY! (my favorite)
  • Saturday: long run, 7 miles (long is relative, people) and #TruetTime and ORIOLES v. RED SOX game (that’s not a workout… except for my liver)
  • Sunday: 30 minute run + yoga

Are you someone that likes to plan out the workouts? How do you get – and stay – motivated?

What do you think? Share!

