motivating molly: running quotes to inspire

Visited an old friend this AM … and got kicked out halfway through the workout. Damnit.

A post shared by Sarah 🐚lin (@sarahoual) on

(Photo source: SarahOUaL’s instagram. Read her blog, follow her on instagram, enjoy.)

BD, one of my best friends (since 6th grade!), decided this year that she had finally heard enough of my “omg running is awesome you guys” ruminations and decided to try “couch to 5k,” (c25k) for herself. The c25k program literally takes you from the couch (where I was) to running a 5k. It works, it’s the bomb and I will forever praise the glory of this program.

Anyway, BD is finished with the program, and signed-up for her very first 5k on June 9. In order to pump her up, I started sharing some of my favorite running quotes with her. I get them on the regular from Running World‘s RW Quote of the day emails, (sign-up here) and they really help me out of some run funks. (Not to be confused with funky runs. Ha! Ewww.)

I’m dealing with my own racing-running battles right now – more on that to come – and I think I just realized that sharing these quotes with BD is just as much for her as it is for me. No surprise there – this only child is selfish in that way sometimes. (I’m working on it.)

Here are two quotes that have spoken to me lately. They apply to running-life and also life-life, and that’s why I dig ’em.

What distinguishes those of us at the starting line from those of us on the couch is that we learn through running to take what the day gives us, what our body will allow us, and what our will can tolerate.”
John Bingham, running writer and speaker

Right you are, Mr. Bingham. Is this not a lesson everyone needs all day, every day?

“There are a million reasons why you can’t. Focus on the few reasons why you can.”
Kara Goucher

First off, Kara Goucher is amazing. Team Kara. Secondly (second off?), I’ve been using this mantra to get me through the difficulty of the past few months. Running is life, my friends, and nothing exemplifies this more than Kara’s quote right there.

xoxo,
molly

What do you think? Share!

