The Nutcracker: Baltimore Style

On December 21 & 22, 2012, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra unites with Baltimore School for the Arts, Maryland Institute College of Art, and the Modell Lyric to present yotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker!

Ok, so I intended for this post to be about how I’m going to see Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker tonight, and how I’m super excited because it’s being performed by Baltimore School for the Arts (BSA) students(!) AND the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra (BSO) AND Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) which means it’s super local and super Baltimoretastic… but once I dug a little deeper into news being written about it, I was tickeled to find more awesome.

Rewind: I mentioned to my mother than I wanted to see the Nutcracker this year because, like many little girls, I loved ballet when I was little, and even studied and practiced ballet until grade 10 when it was clear that I had to stop this whole ballet thing because it was never going to happen.

Also, I’m 5’3” and built… not like a ballerina. So, there’s that.

ANYWAY, we wanted to see the Nutcracker this year because it’s been too long, and there were really two choices: The Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian Nutcracker or the Baltimore School for the Arts (BSA) with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Now, I know the Russians dance the stuff out of a ballet – any ballet. But you know what? The BSA is no joke (it’s soooooo difficult to get in) and I decided it’d be even more fun to watch these gifted students perform.

So glad I did because, it lead me to discover this ballet telegram to Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake. (I can’t post the video directly in this because it’s on the Baltimore Sun website, but it’s not too long and definitely worth the click. So click!)

Who knew ballet telegrams EXISTED?!?! SOMEONE SEND ME ONE!

That’s adorable enough on it’s own, but then I discovered Front & Center:

Front & Center with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Photos, videos and stories from our artists. Interviews, articles and links from our staff. A new way to follow the music!

The whole tumblr started on December 9 and it’s filled with behind-the-scenes stuff on the Nutcracker performance, including interviews and photos and all sorts of interesting tidbits. I’m obsessed.

Example:

Two Princes?! BSA dancer Quincy explains how he brings a unique flair to the role. h/t to filmmaker Kwame for the great interview! #followthemusic

and

How does BSA dancer Kayla feel about performing on the Modell Lyric stage? Student filmmaker Kwame finds out for Front & Center!

So, while I haven’t seen the performance YET, I’ve been listening to the Nutcracker soundtrack alllllllll week December and can’t wait to see my favorites: The dance of the sugar plum fairy, the Russian Dance and the Arabian Dance (my MOST favorite)… oooooh, so excited!

There will be four performances of The Nutcracker, two matinees on Friday, December 21 and Saturday, December 22 at 2 pm, and two evening shows, Friday, December 21 and Saturday, December 22 at 7:30 pm. Tickets are on sale now at Ticketmaster and can also be purchased at the Lyric Box Office directly (with a lower service charge).

What do you think? Share!

