Di Pasquale’s Eats

When training for a half-marathon (in my case, but in your case… a marathon, ultra, 5k, 10k, whatever), I have to say that one of my favorite parts is the fueling portion… or as non-runners call it, “eating.”

Saturday’s long run really wasn’t that long because it was a pull-back week. Still, it was hot and the seven miles I logged left me dehydrated and starving. Perhaps all the beer consumed during the Raven’s pre-season game from the night before (thanks for bringing me, Cobra!) wasn’t the best choice. Live, learn.

Anyway, I had plans to meet up with my mom to do some gift-buying, and when she suggested we go to Di Pasquale’s Italian deli in Highlandtown (ironically, the Greek part of town) to fuel eat, I jumped at the chance. Why? Because in all my life and living in Baltimore, I had never been.

SHAME.

When we pulled up, I was immediately enamored with the adorable outside…

outside of Di Pasquale's

outside of Di Pasquale’s

… or maybe I was just enamored with the Vespa parked outside. Mint green has been a summer obsession for me this year.

Another summer obsession: olives, avocado, and fresh veggies. The salad of the day, therefore, was a no brainer:

Di Pasquale's Salad of the day

I don’t know if you can tell, but the way they sliced the carrots for the salad is one of my most favorite parts of this salad. The most favorite part? AVOCADO! Duh. Would you look at how smooth and creamy it looks? Everything was fresh and delicious and wonderful.

We then followed it up with a shared sandwich (Marcella Caprese) which was glorious in it’s simplicity. And then… we bought all of the stuff.

All.
Of.
The.
Stuff.

Including… but not limited to… cannoli, rapini (broccoli rabe), roasted and marinated eggplant, bread, white truffle olive oil, San Pelligrino Aranciata, mozzarella, and seafood salad:

Di Pasquale Salads

Eating the seafood salad has been the highlight, that’s for sure:
seafood salad from Di Pasquale'sNever mind my newly-confirmed and eating-habit altering allergy to mussels. I ate that bad-boy anyway and just suffered the consequences. WORTH IT.

So in conlusion, would I recommend Di Pasquale’s? ABSOLUTELY. I can’t wait to go back and try the notorious meatball sub…

HOMEMADE MEATBALL
BE PREPARED!!
Homemade meatballs in marinara sauce. Melted provolone cheese optional. *Sub size is served in a 1/2 loaf of our Italian bread.*

… the Real Italian Sub…

THE REAL ITALIAN
Our specialty! Salami, pepper ham, mortadella, capicola & provolone. With “Everything” includes olive oil & vinegar, our special blend of grated cheeses & spices, lettuce, tomato, onions & mild hots.

… and the House Specialty Orange Roughy Platter:

ORANGE ROUGHY PLATTER
Breaded Filet Served with House Salad & Roasted Potatoes

Pardon me now, while I go grab some grub and pretend it’s Di Pasquale’s.

P.S. Guy Fieri from Diners, Drive-Ins And Dives also hit up Di Pasquale’s in 2009 and is a huge fan. You can watch that here.

2 thoughts on “Di Pasquale’s Eats

What do you think? Share!

