My Saturday, July 28, 2012

Today was a great day, for no specific reason other than… it just was.

  • 6:00 6:45 a.m. – Overslept/likely hit snooze and then “off” in a half-asleep haze and fed the dog (I’m dog/housesitting), got dressed, grabbed some water, and jumped in my car in record time. I get major points for not staying in bed and doing my long run on my own time because, let’s face it, the long run just wasn’t going to happen on my own.
  • 7:10 a.m. – Arrived at Loch Raven Reservoir – the site of our group long-run. I was only ten minutes behind. NOT BAD, MOLLY! I will leave out how fast I was driving, but you can imagine just a touch above speed limit, if it makes you feel better.
  • 7:15 a.m. – Run what I thought was six miles… but turns out it was only five. No wonder I made such good time. Still, thanks to my new kicks (Brooks Adrenelines, I love you long time), my shins felt awesome and I really, really enjoyed the run (and one nasty hill)! Turns out, training works.
  • 8:40 a.m. – Get myself a bagel (toasted whole wheat everything with egg whites and sausage) from Towson Hot Bagel. Turns out, they do make a good bagel (for south of the NJ/NY area).
  • 9:00 a.m. – Fix myself my first of three (yes, three) red-velvet-iced coffees (with a splash of soy) and eat my bagel.
  • 9:10 a.m. – (I realize that only took ten minutes. I WAS HUNGRY. LAY OFF ME.) Proceed immediately from eating to the pool, against all advice my mom ever gave me. I was still sweaty and hot from the morning run, and I needed the sweet relief of a pool. I’m happy to report that it was both sweet and relieving.
  • 10:20 a.m. – Dry off and watch the cycling road race (is that what it’s called?) and try and harness that energy and motivation for my second work-out of the day: strength-training with my trainer.
  • 11:00 a.m. – Report for training. Nearly die (not really) five minutes into what is the hardest work-out he’s ever given me. Ever. No really. It was SO HARD.
  • 12:00 p.m. – Unabashedly blast Justin Bieber’s Boyfriend on the way home because… even though I’m so tired and sore I can’t unscrew the top of my waterbottle, I know that I’ve worked hard and it’s only noon. I DESERVE SOME BIEBER.
  • 12:10 p.m. – Go swimming for the second time. Chug my second of three red-velvet-iced coffees. Life is very good.
  • 12:45 p.m. – Consider checking my twitter feed but then remember that I want to operate in update-only mode until Olympics are over. #SpoilerFree
  • 1:30 p.m. – Meet my mom for lunch at Atwater’s. I know it’s risky, but I decide to watch the 400m men’s IM at 8 p.m. instead of live because I’m so hungry. Again.
  • 2:30 p.m. – CURSE THE BALTIMORE SUN TEXT MESSAGE SERVICE FOR TEXTING ME THE RESULT OF THE LOCHTE/PHELPS SHOWDOWN BEFORE I WATCHED THE RACE. Immediately UNSUBSCRIBE. Those jerks. (The Sun, not poor Phelps.)
  • 3:00 – 6:00 p.m. – I can’t really account for these hours. I think I was in a food coma, and then an “I’m so exhausted” coma that I can’t remember the order in which I went to a grocery store, went to Artifact Coffee (adorbs and delish – more to come in a future blog post), went clothes shopping, watered flowers, and went back to the house to feed the dog.
  • 6:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. – Swim! Read! Cook dinner! Drink beer! Hang with friends.
  • 8:00 p.m. – now – Watch Olympics. Feel sad for Phelps, but happy for Team USA. Feel conflicted. Drink final red-velvet-iced coffee. Feel better.

See? Nothing spectacular. Nothing noteworthy. Nothing crazy or unique or original. No instagrams or other photos. Just a day where I took care of myself and drank a whole lot of iced coffee. Perfection.

3 thoughts on “My Saturday, July 28, 2012

  1. I love days like this!

    I’ve been wanting to head up to get some “supplies” from Neopol Smokery and was thinking of turning it into a day to explore in Baltimore. I have of course been to the aquarium and the visual arts museum, etc, but wanted to see more of the local side. It looks like this Artifact Coffee fits the bill. Any other recommendations?

What do you think? Share!

