“The work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives, and the dream shall never die.”

Via the New York Times, “The Supreme Court on Thursday largely let stand President Obama’s health care overhaul, in a mixed ruling that court observers were rushing to analyze.”

I’m overwhelmed with happy. I didn’t really expect this, I’m ashamed to say. But that’s all I’ll say about that here.

Instead, I’ll use this opportunity to remember one of health-care’s greatest advocates, Sen. Ted Kennedy. He would have loved today. I would have loved watching him love today.

This decision’s for you, Teddy.


Healthcare is a fundamental right and not a privilege.

From “The work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives, and the dream shall never die,” to “The work begins anew, the hope rises again, and the dream lives on.” Beautiful. Touching. And so relevant right now.

Or, as Ted’s son Patrick wrote in a note on his father’s grave after the President signed the health-care reform bill into law, ““Dad, the unfinished business is done.”

Good day to be an American.

PS – Here’s some vintage Ted Kennedy on healthcare in 1978:

2 thoughts on ““The work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives, and the dream shall never die.”

    • I DID! I know. I used to do more political posts in the past, but then I started working for places that didn’t allow it in their social-media policy so…

What do you think? Share!

