Kelly St. Patrick’s Day Shamrock 5K

Yesterday, after a long run with my 10k training group (Soul of the City 10k, yo!) at Ft. McHenry, I hopped in my car, booked it home, painted my nails green, changed my outfit to a St.-Patrick’s-Day-Appropriate green, put on my leprachaun headband, tied St. Patrick’s Day ribbon in my hair, and hopped in my friend’s car to run the Kelly St. Patrick’s Day Shamrock 5k in downtown Baltimore.

(Funny story: My boss asked me today if I would run a race that didn’t require me to dress up in costume. I think we both know the answer is… no!)

I was particularly excited to run this race because, growing up in Baltimore, I’ve always heard about how much fun it is and I just assumed that I would never run it beacause… duh. I don’t run.

Not this year, suckahs.

And! I’m pleased to report that the race did not let me down. Here’s why:

Gotta love that sea of green! Seriously – I’ve never seen anything like it. Highly enjoyable.

Second – I PR‘d! Which was totally unexpected because I’d already run four miles earlier that day and was instructed by my running coach to run easy. So… does this mean that all the training is paying off? I’d say so. Only two more minutes to shave off to reach my New Year’s goal. And i think it’s totally doable. ‘Cause let’s get real, it’s not like I was winning races and shaving off crucial seconds like these runners (overachievers!), but that’s what’s great about running. It’s all about challenging yourself. And being grateful you can run (because not everyone can, and that sure is frustrating!). So hooray for an unintended (not unwanted) PR!

Third – Beer! That was free! And easy to get to! And free! And in copious amounts! They were literally filling my (open and willing) arms with many, many cans and freshly-poured drafts of ice-cold beer.

Fourth – about that beer. It was Miller 64, and ever the graphic-design fan, I was super psyched about the logo:

I now have about five cans in my icebox at home. Icebox! Hilarious.

And finally – the race started with my new most favorite pump-me-up song ever… “I’m Shipping Up to Boston” by the Dropkick Murphys.

Wah hoo! ARE YOU PUMPED UP NOW OR WHAT????? (Go Red Sox!)

I can’t wait to run it next year, and would encourage anyone to do the same. It’s a ball from start to finish, an easy course, and super fun. DO IT.

4 thoughts on “Kelly St. Patrick’s Day Shamrock 5K

  1. Thanks! People weren’t kidding when they said it was a great course to PR on. Still, I’m still only one-year into my running so I’m in the sweet spot where most races are a PR 😉

    • Get ready for the course at the USA Half on Saturday…it’s not as PR friendly. There’s a huge incline from mile 5 to 8! you turn off the mall and onto a HUGE hill! I ran that race as a relay last year.

      • I hear both things – that it’s a huge long hill (and I used to live in DC for 10 years, so I know what they’re talking about) and that it’s “not a big deal and then all down hill from there.” Thoughts? I mean, at this point, my training is done… not much I can do but mentally prepare.

        YIKES.

What do you think? Share!

