Beginner Yoga

Guess what I’m doing tonight? For the first time in a long, long, long time? I’ll give you a hint:

Beautiful cobra. #yoga #dogs #yogadog

A post shared by Robert Stevulak (@rstevulak) on

(Photo credit: @rstevulak)
I’m getting a dog that can do yoga!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just kidding.

About the dog.

I’m going to a yoga class!

It was one of my new year’s goals after all. I think I’ve tried yoga approximately thrice in my life. Each time I wasn’t into it, didn’t get it, got bored, and never went back. But this time, I’m determined to give it a real try. I define “real” as more than three times and without and predetermined hatred in my crazy little head.

That’s why, when I found out that Charm City Yoga had a whole Beginner Series dedicated to, well… beginners, I quickly guilted BD into joining me. To be fair (to me), I didn’t have to try that hard. She and I both wanted to try yoga. Me because I’m batsh*t crazy and need to figure out how to calm the mind (but who else will worry about all the things! in the world!) and she because… well, that’s for her to tell you. And she won’t, because she rarely uses Facebook and don’t have a private online diary like me. Her loss!

AN-Y-WAY, back to the description of the Beginner Series:

At Charm City Yoga, we make a special effort to welcome new students to Yoga. Many students start with our 5-Class beginner series which we describe below. These classes provide a slower paced program with more description and commentary accompanying each asana or posture. Breath awareness and relaxation also are introduced.

We have five-class Beginner Series designed as a simple introduction to yoga. In this series, designed by Charm City Yoga founder Kim Manfredi, you will learn the basics of yoga. More experienced students will gain a better, and more detailed understanding of the architecture of the poses, as well as the underlying philosophy of the yoga practice. The five classes occur once a week for five consecutive weeks.

In short – it’s exactly what I never knew I was looking for. It counts as “real” as it’s five classes over five weeks. It gives me background information and then… if I complete it and am still not into it, then I can feel good that I gave it an honest try. Win/win.

If you practice yoga, I have questions for you: What does one bring to yoga? What does one wear? Prepare?

Namaste, hons.

One thought on “Beginner Yoga

  1. I am very interested to hear your thoughts on it – mostly because I finally gave up trying to enjoy yoga after spending the entire classes making to do lists in my head and stressing out about why it was taking so long and whether I had time to go to the gym after. Pro tip: not the point of yoga.

    Bring water and a mat (or borrow one from the studio!). That’s all you need.

What do you think? Share!

