Disney World Half Marathon 2012

Over the fourth of July this year, I found myself sitting on the beach amongst friends (doesn’t that sound fancy?), firing questions about running ad nauseam (again, doesn’t that sound fancy?) to LM, and contemplating whether or not I should sign-up for my first (and likely only) half marathon in January of 2012. It seemed, then, like an incredible feat.

And now… in exactly one week, I will run the Walt Disney World Half Marathon.

If you know me at all, you will appreciate what a big freaking deal this is for me. You will should also pardon me for all the “I love running” nonsense that has been, and will likely continue to be, paramount on this blog.

You might also see an influx of Disney-related stuff. Sorry, but I’m not sorry. I love me some Disney, and the half marathon will be followed by a Disney World Vacation for which I am over-the-moon excited for. Plus – it’s warm in Orlando, Fl.

Anyway… the point of this post is not to brag because I’m surely the slowest runner on the planet and one of tens-of-thousands that will run the half that day. Instead, it’s to remind myself that if you want something bad enough, you just make it a priority and you do it. Shin splints, shoulder tendinitis,  chafing, black toes, and all. Because it’s so totally and completely worth it to feel this good. This proud. This confident.

And whatever my official time is, I’m going to lap the old Molly, who would probably still be sitting on the couch.

 

 

 

I owe it all to you.

2 thoughts on “Disney World Half Marathon 2012

What do you think? Share!

