Team Sparkle and the Traveling Skirt

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is one of my most favorite movies (and books, but I prefer the movie because I love me some Amber Tamblyn, Alexis Bledel (RORY!), America Ferrera, and Blake Lively). In fact, PP and I formed our own little sisterhood involving the SotTP2 movie and Madagascar 2. (“And I’d bring her breakfast in bed… six loaves of wheat toast with butter on both sides, no crust. The way she likes it.”)

I’m a fan of sequels, clearly.

Anyway, why am I telling you this? Because this past weekend I got to join the sisterhood of the traveling skirt. It’s not an actual sisterhood, and I’m sure some dudes have worn the skirt too, but it should be formalized. With a handshake or secret language or something.

Here are the rules:

The Traveling Sparkle Skirts are a pair of Team Sparkle Running Skirts (one Hot Pink & one Turquoise) that travel the globe spreading the Team Sparkle love. (Read the Traveling Sparkle Skirt Stories HERE.) To be eligible to receive one of the Traveling Sparkle Skirts, you must:

  • Wear it in a race of your choice (5K, 10K, 1/2 Marathon, Marathon – sorry, no walk-a-thons). If you are new to running, this race should be a new distance for your, or you must be trying to set a new PR (personal record). If you consider yourself a runner, any race is fine, just make us proud.
  • Intend to run the entire race (even a slow, slow, slow jog is a run). Unless you are a trained “run-walker” then we can discuss.
  • Be willing fill out a Team Sparkle questionnaire after the race & send us a great picture of yourself to be posted on the Team Sparkle website.
  • Be willing to ship the skirt (via Priority Mail, approximately $5) to it’s next race destination, as early as the next business day, after your race.

I agree to the terms, filled out my application, and voila… the skirt arrives in the mail:

The woman that had it before me wrote a cute note which she included in the package that made it’s way to me from Cincinnati, OH. Adorable – the skirt was getting a tour of the rust belt. What’s next, a swim in the Anacostia? Heck no. Not if I have my way.

Step two… coordinate running outfit complete with skirt:

One thing I’ve learned since I started running: Runners are ridiculously anal retentive (is that vulgar?). The sheer amount of things I had to lay out, pack, and/or prepare the night before was RIDIC. ULOUS. RIDICULOUS. (I love it.)

I opted to keep it simple: all black with a pink skirt. To emphasize the pink, and really make it pop. No, not really. Only because black is all I have for cold weather gear, and it was going to be 36 degrees F for the start of the race. I will protect this house, and I will protect it with Maryland’s own Under Armour. (Maryland Pride.)

Actual reality: The skirt made me look a bit like a Fantasia Hippo.

It's funny 'cause it's true.

The next morning, me and my Baltimore crew drove down to National Harbor and changed outfits in the car about sixty times (it was so! cold!):

And then… we walked to the start, took a bazillion pictures, and I ran further than I ever had before! 15k = 9.3 miles = automatic PR.

Winning is fun.

I’ll save the gory details of the race for a separate post, and I’ll save the pictures of me in the skirt for my contribution to the Team Sparkle blog. I’ll update this post, once those posts are live. Until then, viva la sparkle skirt! (It shouldn’t surprise you that after I sent my skirt off to Illinois to the next runner, I went online and bought the golden yellow skirt for my upcoming Disney World Half Marathon… sh*t’s getting real, people!)

What do you think? Share!

