Woody Allen Glasses

CHARTING WOODY ALLEN'S GLASSES

How is it possible that I haven’t blogged about my love for Woody Allen before? BLASPHEME! Woody Allen is the ying to my yang. The salt to my pepper. The Diane Keaton to my, um, Woody Allen? In short, he’s a genius. In long (is that a saying?), he’s the reason why I fell in love with New York City before having ever visited. He’s the reason I love awkward musicals featuring celebrities who can’t sing. He’s the reason I over analyze things. He’s the reason I lurve you, I luff you (two Fs), I loave you.

I love him, love him, love him.

And I love his glasses.  Which is why the chart above makes my heart sing. Further, it kind of reminds me about my newest obsession, Warby Parker.

No less than five people emailed me about Warby Parker following an article about them in The New York Times. All of these people said I should get my new glasses (I somehow lost my old pair) from WP. Why? The answer is threefold:

  1. They are only $99 each. All pairs. And for most prescriptions, which includes my fairly weak one.
  2. With each pair of glasses purchased, they donate a pair one pair of glasses to someone in need. They literally give the gift of vision.
  3. They’re named after a Kerouac novel’s characters.
  4. They’d adorably vintage and hipster without being ridiculous.
Plus – you can order five pairs at a time to try on at home – cost free – to see how they look. If you upload your picture with their glasses onto their facebook page, they’ll give you feedback on how it looks. Real feedback, not the fake stuff. And finally – you can upload a headshot onto the website to virtually try on any pair you want.
It’s genius. I highly recommend you try out Warby Parker if you’re in the market for a new pair of awesome… Awesome glasses.

How do I know for sure? Well, these are the glasses I have now, Sibley:

'Sibley Revolver Black - Optical - Women I Warby Parker'

And these are the ones I just ordered (and received), Crosby:

'Crosby Burgundy Fade - Optical - Women I Warby Parker'

Tell me, do you think Woody Allen would approve of the later? Because I sure do.

H/t to The WOW Report, by way of The Baltimore Chop, for this lovely chart.

What do you think? Share!

