Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

What did I think of Dogfish Head Punkin Ale? Why don’t I let my girl Vanessa tell you:

Gee, I sound like a broken record. I loved the last two beers, Smuttynose and Schlafly. But you know what? This one might be my favorite:

Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

“But Molly,” you say, “I thought you couldn’t find the Punkin Ale?” Let’s back up a bit.

A couple of posts ago, I told you there would be a new addition to the list of pumpkin beers I’d be trying. Here’s how I procured it.

I searched high and low, woefully late, trying to see if any store would have a secret stash of Punkin ale for me. No dice. I tried DC, Maryland, Virginia (no, not Virginia), and Delaware. Nothing.

And then… I went to see my Godson and his brother on Halloween night for a little pre-trick-or-treating get together. Or as my Godson kept saying, “Are you here for the party?” Yes, little J, I’m here for the party. ESPECIALLY WHEN YOUR DAD IS ON TOP OF HIS GAME AND HAD A BUCKET FULL OF DOGFISH HEAD PUNKIN ALE CHILLED AND READY FOR CONSUMPTION.

Since I couldn’t stay long – Hampden takes Trick or Treating very, very seriously and I didn’t want to miss it – I grabbed one for the road. And by “for the road,” I meant to “enjoy once home” because my godson’s godfather is a state trooper and I was not about to play that game… especially on Halloween. So, don’t worry. But, thank you little J’s dad! You gave me the best gift ever. Totally made up for missing the pizza 😉

SO THE BEER! Here we go – here’s the description from the website:

A full-bodied brown ale with smooth hints of pumpkin and brown sugar. We brew our Punkin Ale with pumpkin meat, organic brown sugar and spices. This is the perfect beer to warm-up with, as the season cools.

Punkin Ale is named after a locally-famous and seriously off-centered event here in southern Delaware – Punkin Chunkin (check out some of these Discovery Channel videos of Punkin Chunkin, you gotta see it to believe it!). In fact, Punkin Ale made it’s debut as it claimed First Prize in the 1994 Punkin Chunkin Recipe Contest – yes, that was a full 6 months before we even opened our doors for business. Punkin Chunkin has grown in size and scale with pumpkins now being hurled more than 4,000 feet through the air! If you come down to see if for yourself – come by and visit us.

Since then, we’ve brewed Punkin Ale each and every fall. It is released right around September first each year. When you find it, grab some extra because it’s usually gone by Thanksgiving.

I haven’t yet told you what I think about it, but that’ll have to wait because… don’t worry… they have a video. (Every beer has a story, they say. Here’s Punkin Ale:

I was pretty sure, at this point, that there was no way that this would taste bad.

Dogfish Head Punkin Ale in a Glass

You'll note the beer in a wine glass. Someone get this girl a proper beer-drinking vessel.

Praise jeebus I was right!

My notes read:

  • The best! (I think.)
  • Clearly top three.
  • Smells like how I want every fall day to smell.
  • It’s simple, clean, and a bit hoppy without being gross hoppy. (<– see my effective use of a beer term there?)
  • It’s also very pumpkin pie without actually being heavy like pumpkin pie.
  • Oh delicious brown sugar.

Clearly, I liked it. It seems, though, that while it’s extremely hard to procure, others don’t necessarily share my enthusiasm. I agree with Carrots ‘n’ Cake that’s it’s certainly strong, but I disagree that it’s overly hoppy because I feel like I don’t typically like a ton of hops. And I feel like I’m always in the mood for it, but sadly, only stole borrowed took one. Unlike Sports Glutton’s review, I didn’t taste anything astringency – perhaps he had a funky bottle? Try it again! I urge you. Snobby Beer and I agree the most.

Well, I’m sure you’re all happy to know that operation drink-all-the-pumpkin-beer is now over. I hope it was fun for you. I really enjoyed it, especially because I feel like I’ve learned a lot about beer. I can’t wait to do it all over again next year.

5 thoughts on “Dogfish Head Punkin Ale

  1. Unfortunately I’ll have to respectfully disagree. During my time in the wine/beer industry I tasted 3 different years of Dogfish Head Punkin Ale and was always as unimpressed by the beer as I was this year. That said there is a beer for every palate and for every palate to enjoy.

    Cheers and have a great Thanksgiving!

What do you think? Share!

