How Many Oysters is Too Many Oysters?

… That’s a trick question, or as TF says:

Well then. I have my answer.

So, as I blogged before, I went to a really awesome event at my most favorite restaurant on the planet, Woodberry Kitchen, on Monday. It was called Shuckfest 2011 and it featured the release of Flying Dog’s Pearl Necklace Oyster Stout. Oh how I wish they just called it Oyster Stout, but no one asked me.

Despite the fact that I knew I was getting sick, I had a really fantastic time.

crowd at shuckfest 2011

Nope, not a Christmas-tree lot. Just your run-of-the-mill outdoor oyster fest.

After the initial urge to stuff my face with every oyster I saw, I dialed it down a notch and took the cue from my friend who wanted beer. Now!

Done and done.

While the whole party was to celebrate the release of Flying Dog’s Pearl Necklace Oyster Stout, they also served their winter ale and their IPA (I think). I tried the Oyster Stout first and loved it. It was so, so good. It was dark, warm, smooth, thick and chewy… in the best way possible. Perfectly fall, and perfectly winter at the same time. I only wish they were selling it there because I would absolutely have bought at least a six pack. I should note that I also tried the winter ale, and that was delicious too, but my friend and I both agreed that the Oyster Stout was the bomb.

With beer in hand, we took to the first raw bar. The lines for the grilled oysters and oyster stew looked too long.

The Rappahannock River Oysters being shucked at the raw bar were of the briny and sweet variety. Naturally, I tried four five six of each, but I knew before I started that the briny would be my favorite. They were. Seriously lip smacking good. And I couldn’t get over that I could have as many as I wanted… a kid in an oyster store I was, I was.

oyster shucker

We grabbed our plates of raw oysters and headed over to the long line for the grilled and hot goods. While it was 70+ degrees for a November day, it was still a bit chilly and so we wanted the warmth of the grilled and chowder. During this time, we finished beer number one and went for beer number two. We also enjoyed the musical stylings of  Cris Jones and some dudes from The Bridge: a rock & roll quintet from Baltimore. Maryland Pride!

When we finally got our grilled oysters and oyster chowder, we grabbed two choice seats by the enormous fire pit and started stuffing our faces eating.

the firepit and a non-christmas tree

I was so interested in the oysters, I didn’t even realize that the skinny kid next to me was trying to flirt. Oysters > boys.

I cannot describe to you how many oysters were in this delicious chowder (100? 1,000?). Or how they melted in my mouth. Even the oyster crackers were on another level. And the grilled oysters were hot, almost creamy, and tasted like the ocean on a fall day – basically everything you want in an oyster.

Heaven.

How many more oysters did I eat? Do you really want to know? No, no you don’t. Let’s just say it was upwards of 30 (eek) and I’m proud to say that I did not have a stomach ache the next day. But I did dream about the ocean.

So yeah. You could say I enjoyed myself. Even if I did come down with a raging cold post-oyster. Totally worth it.

(DC Friends – if you like the taste of good things, be sure to hit up Hank’s Oyster Bar on Monday, November 21 at 5 pm for your own oyster and oyster stout party):

The End.

4 thoughts on “How Many Oysters is Too Many Oysters?

  1. BTW, if any readers know of how I can buy a six pack or case of the Oyster Stout, let me know. I’m beginning to think it can only be sampled at a bar.

What do you think? Share!

