Pumpkin Beer Review: Shipyard Pumpkinhead

I’ve been complaining about the graphic design for these delicious pumpkin beers, so I thought I’d try one that looked real purdy to liven up the scene a little.

Shipyard Pumpkinhead

See! That’s what I’m looking for in packaging. It has an Ichabod Crane vibe, and I totally dig it. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow was my jam (my read? my watch?) when I was younger. And that was even before I saw the remake with Johnny Depp.

Moving on. (Is it hot in here?)

You know the drill. Let’s start with the website:

The Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale is a crisp and refreshing wheat ale with delightful aromatics and subtle spiced flavor… Hints of pumpkin, cinammon and nutmeg aromas and flavors; a crisp, refreshing beer.

Ok Shipyard, I get it. It’s crisp. It’s refreshing. But somehow, this lame description leads me to believe that Shipyard doesn’t think their beer is all that.

My initial thoughts I jotted down:

  • Yay. It’s from Maine. I love Maine (and New England in general).
  • Wow. Is this beer? It almost smells like a candy.
  • It definitely smells and tastes like a cider, or maybe it’s just heavy on the clove.
  • There is an overwhelming spice smell that’s different from the previous beers I tried.
  • There’s something I don’t like by the smell (anise? – because I hate black licorice), but it’s better by taste.
  • A little weak.
  • Not bad, but not my favorite.
Some beer reviewers agree with me, while others disagree. I think, as is always the case, different palates prefer different tastes. And different people want something different from their pumpkin beer. That’s better for pumpkin beer as a whole, because it means that each year, there are more and more to choose from… so how can that be bad?
So it wasn’t my favorite, but it wasΒ my favorite bottle design.
What do you think? Share!

