Pumpkin Beer Review: Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale

I had better get cracking! I have two three more beers to review (I’ll explain the addition of ONE MORE to my beer list later), and it’s already November! Can you believe it? Where does time go?

Back to the beer – and this time it was oh! so good:

Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale

Okay, so despite that rather poor packaging, Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale rocked this taste test. It rocked it good. (Seriously, Smuttynose, what’s with the incredibly lame graphics? You’ve got competition in the pumpkin-beer market. Rise to the challenge, graphically!)

YIKES

Let’s start with the (again, rather lame) description on the Smuttynose website (New Hampshire, I expect better from you):

Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale is our homage to the craft and heritage of America’s brewers. Recipes calling for the use of pumpkins in beer date back to early colonial times, when brewers sought to extend their supply of costly imported malt with locally grown ingredients, such as squash and “pompions.”

In that spirit, we brew our ale with the addition of pumpkin to the mash, along with traditional spices to create a delicious American original.

I love America, so I was into the history lesson.

I also learned that the reason I was probably so into this beer is because it was literally made with pumpkin. Like, actual pumpkin. COOL. And delicious.

My first taste had me thinking it was too bitter – oh no! not again! – but clearly that was just my nerves talking (Nerves! Ha!) because after taste number one, I was sold. The bitterness, for me, totally disappeared. And by bitter, I guess I mean hops? It smelled warm and nutmegy and tasted exactly the same. So delicious, not too sweet, but absolutely captured the pumpkin-ness I was looking for. Oh, and it’s spicy, too! And that was what I missed from the other beers I’ve tried so far.

FWIW, many of the online reviews I’ve read weren’t so kind to this beer. My guess is that for an amateur-beer drinker, given my inexperienced palate and the desire to actually taste the pumpkin, that’s why we came down on different sides. Either way, I don’t much care. This beer was yummy and I’d definitely buy it again.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Beer Review: Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale

    • Oh MAN! Where do you live, Antarctica?! Are there any pumpkin/fall/harvest beers local to you that you’d recommend? Are those the ones you reviewed previously?

What do you think? Share!

