Pumpkin Beer Review: Post Road Pumpkin Ale

As promised, here’s beer review #2: Post Road Pumpkin Ale. AKA – the beer that kicked off the actual pumpkin flavors.

https://i2.wp.com/distillery.s3.amazonaws.com/media/2011/10/23/31680a0b7a2e4ad78212784d40149b23_7.jpg

First reaction: YUM

Second reaction: Heck yeah this is good. It was warm and spicy with a crispness at the finish that didn’t seem hoppy to me (I’m a professional beer reviewer now that I’ve reviewd, um, one beer). It tasted like pumpkin without going all Starbucks-pumpkin latte at it. In otherwords: It had the essence of pumkin without the overwhelming-hit-you-on-the-head pumpkin taste that ruins a good beer.

Post Road Pumpkin Ale in a Glass

The one taste I definitely discerned was nutmeg. And I’m gaga for nutmeg lately. Can’t get enough. I put it in everything (oatmeal, coffee, smoothies).

So all-in-all, it was a very delicious beer that went perfectly with that morning’s 5k (I drank this on Sunday) and I could have easily had a couple more, except I then passed out for a two-hour nap.

Sundays rule.

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Beer Review: Post Road Pumpkin Ale

  1. Just happily happened upon your site via Dashboard.

    I remember drinking/enjoying Post Road Pumpkin Ale when I lived in the DC area. Unfortunately it’s not available where I’m living now. A few week’s ago I did a review of 8 pumpkin beers on my site: http://sports-glutton.com/2011/10/13/thirsty-thursday-a-review-of-pumpkin-beers/

    I don’t have any repeats of your selections, but did find the higher end Shipyard “Smashed Pumpkin” to be the best this year.

    Cheers!

  2. @sportsglutton – I’m so glad you found my blog because now I’m going to go out and try and buy some of the beers you reviewed, especially the Shipyard “Smashed Pumpkin.” Yum.

    I didn’t realize that Post Road was only available on the East Coast. That definitely makes me like it a whole lot more. Weird how that works.

What do you think? Share!

