Pumpkin Beer Review

You guys! Get psyched (SIKED) for my unofficial pumpkin-beer review! I celebrated last night with a warm-up beer:

sam adams octoberfest

It’s seasonal, not pumpkin. Yes, I know the difference.

I know it’s cliche, but I’m absolutely one of those people who loves fall because they love the plethora of pumpkin-infused products. Lattes! Beers! Oatmeal! Pie! I just can’t help myself. I also have been craving beer like whoa lately, so when I read Carrots ‘N’ Cake’s favorite pumpkin beers post, I knew I wanted to conduct my own taste test. I am an only child, afterall.

Naturally, I went to The Wine Source – one of the best reasons about living in Hampden (as it’s within walking distance). They have an incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff AND you can buy individual bottles of a huge variety of beer. They call that winning. Here’s the receipt which shows the six beers I chose for this ever-important taste test:

Pumpkin Beer Receipt

In case you can’t read that, it says:

I really wish they had Dogfish Head Punkin Ale, but they were sold out ages ago I was told. My bad. Next time my foray into the world of pumpkin beer won’t be so delayed.

Anyway… I’m going to try the Goose Island Harvest Ale first because I had some Goose Island 312 in Chicago two weekends ago and I liked it a lot. Plus, it’s the least pumpkiny, so it should go first.

¡Salud!

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Beer Review

  1. @Billy – I can’t believe I didn’t even think to call you to consult on beer choices. That was dumb. I think I thought you were still in Germany? Somewhere European?

  2. Dogfish Head Punkin is the best. The Shipyard is pretty good too (of course, it’s from Maine). I tried the Schlafly last year and really enjoyed it. Post Road is so so. Shock Top is corporate swill, why would you buy that?!?!

    Two not on your list that I’ve enjoyed: Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale and Southern Tier Pumpking.

    Check out this list if you want to track down more pumpkin beers: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/style/72

    Check out this list if you want to track down more pumpkin beers: http://beeradvocate.com/beer/style/72

    Another but fall seasonal (non-pumpkin) that I really enjoyed was the Sierra Nevada Tumbler, but I think it might already be out of stores.

  3. Opps, did a hack cut and paste job there. Meant to also say that I thought the Sam Adams Oktoberfest was junk this year – what did you think? Their seasonal brews have really gone down hill in recent years.

  4. @Justin – Totally agree. What happened to the old Sam Adams? Although, I will say that I had their winter lager and that was right on point this year, so maybe it’s just an Oktoberfest thing?

    @Billy – you were (almost) right – Schlafly was one of my favorites. good call. if it weren’t for that sneaky dogfish head, it would have won.

What do you think? Share!

