Lucy and the Emotions of a Marathon

This is the fourth of five posts that will honor one of my dearest friends, Lucy. She’s an über-running badass and is running the Chicago Marathon on Sunday!

chicago marathon 2011 banner

Dear Lucy,

So here we are, the Friday before the big marathon. You’re probably experiencing a range of emotions:

  • Excited – OMG the marathon is almost here!
  • Anxious – Will I be able to finish?
  • Prepared – I trained hard. I ran 20 miles. What’s six more?
  • Unprepared – OMG I only ran 20 miles. How will I ever do six more?
  • Proud – I went from not running to running a marathon in less than a year. I am amazing.
  • Emotional – How many miles will it take until I cry? Will I bawl, or just tear up?
  • Terrified – WHY AM I DOING THIS? I AM CRAZY! IT’S NOT TOO LATE TO BACK OUT NOW.
  • Ready to Run – Let’s do this thing.
And chances are, you’ll probably soon feel:
  • Antsy
  • Nauseous
  • Queasy
  • Euphoric
  • Tearful
  • Manic
I know these things because I a read a lot of running blogs, remember? But here are a few things I want you to remember as you’re running. Yes, they are cheesy. Yes, they are annoying. But they are true. So, so true:

Always have a back-up plan.

... but I'm running a marathon here.

“I’ve learned that finishing a marathon isn’t just an athletic achievement. It’s a state of mind; a state of mind that says anything is possible.” – John Hanc, running writer

Couldn't hurt, right?

I’m so proud of you, I can’t freaking wait to hop on that plane tonight, and I can’t wait to be there for Sunday!

What do you think? Share!

