My Ideal Bookshelf

One of my best girlfriends over at Lucy Actually blogged about the idea of an “Ideal Bookshelf,” and I thought to myself – that’s awesome. And personal. And I want.

And then I thought, which books would I choose? I can’t even fill out the “favorite books” section on Facebook because I get so overwhelmed I just have to quit.

Some time passed.

Then she blogged about receiving her very own ideal bookshelf.

 

Lucy Actually's Ideal Bookshelf

I showed this to my mom, whose house I happened to be visiting when I read all about it, and she proclaimed, “I love it – I’ll get you one, too… if you want.” IF I WANT. Please. I want! I want!

So now all I have to do is select my favorite books for my ideal bookshelf. Gaaaah!

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far… but I’ll clearly need to add and edit this list to a solid ten… or eight if I can stand it:

  1. Each Peach Pear Plum by Allan and Janet Ahlberg
  2. A Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  4. Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder
  5. The Lexus and the Olive Tree by Thomas L. Friedman
  6. Banker to the Poor by Muhammad Yunus
  7. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  8. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
  9. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein
  10. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion
  11. Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy
  12. Just as Long as We’re Together by Judy Blume
  13. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
  14. The Botany of Desire by Michael Pollan
  15. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  16. Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain
  17. Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell
  18. She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb

What are your favorite books?

I really hope you’ll tell me! I’m curious to know because the old cliche is true… favorite books say a lot about a person. My favorites say that I’m an emotional girly-girl – stuck in adolescence but yearning to grow up already – who so very badly wants to save the world with micro-financing solutions. Or something.

What do you think? Share!

