Washingtonian’s Blogger Beat: U Street Girl

An ode to my former neighborhood, the U Street Corridor, from the Washingtonian and U Street Girl, herself:

One thing people would be surprised to learn about your neighborhood:
“I’m surprised by how many people don’t know about the history. I’m also surprised that so many of my friends who grew up in the area had never been to Ben’s Chili Bowl. It’s strange to me. I always want to go to the institutions and learn about the history of wherever I am.”

Best takeout option on U Street:
“This is a tough one because I’m not sure there are great options. DC Noodles is good, and I like doing take out from Dukem.”

Where to go on a date:
“Etete because it was the restaurant my boyfriend and I went on our first date. And if your date isn’t game for trying Ethiopian food, they’re probably not much fun.”

Where to grab a drink after work:
“Bar Pilar. Order some food, make friends with the bartender, and get the best wine and food recommendations. I can’t sing Bar Pilar’s praises enough. Also, go to Solly’s just because I love it so much—PBR in a can, good company. Because I go often enough, I have become friends with Solly himself.”

Favorite off-the-beaten-path boutique:
“Legendary Beast! I can’t believe I just went there for the first time a few weeks ago. Everyone, you have to go. Wonderful jewelry, a friendly, knowledgeable owner, and a great location.”

Pick a roof deck: Marvin or Nellie’s.
“They’re both nice when they’re not über-crowded. So I pick both, as long as it’s not 11 PM on a Saturday.”

9:30 Club or Black Cat?
“9:30 Club for bigger shows, and Black Cat for ’80s dance night and small indie bands.”

Cork or Vinoteca?

“I like Vinoteca, but I love Cork. I love the owners, love the food, love the service, love the wine, love the atmosphere. The only thing I don’t love is how difficult it is to get a table.”

Ben’s Chili Bowl or Ben’s Next Door?

“Ben’s Chili Bowl. You just can’t beat the energy or atmosphere in that place. Oh, and the half-smokes. Plus, they play awesome music.”

Shop or business you’d like to see move in:
“A bookstore. Why are there next to no bookstores in DC? I’d love one in the neighborhood. Also, if Georgetown Cupcake wants to open a location, I won’t protest. And some more lunch options would be great—a sandwich shop or something.”

Biggest architectural eyesore:
“The Reeves Center. It’s just ugly. And also, the empty storefronts along 14th and U streets, though thankfully there are fewer and fewer as time goes by.”

One thing about the neighborhood that needs improving:

“This might seem small, but it’s the littering that gets to me. I wish people would show more respect for the neighborhood and throw their trash out in a garbage can. Sometimes it really detracts from enjoying the neighborhood.”

Finish this sentence: “If a reality show was made about U Street residents, it would be called . . . ”

“. . . Diversity in the City, following people of different incomes, races, and walks of life who all live in the same ’hood.”

Read the full article here if you’re feeling wistful, like me, about neighborhoods past.

What do you think? Share!

