“Some people eat, some people drink, some people smoke. I Pledge.”

Johnny Weir is fabulous.

It's raining fabulous.

From the Associated Press:

While Evan Lysacek thinks about dusting off a special spot in his trophy case, Johnny Weir, well, just plain dusts.

Lysacek left the Pacific Coliseum on Tuesday night in second place after the men’s short program. One more dynamic performance in the free skate and the defending world champion will leave the Vancouver Olympics with a medal. Maybe even gold.

“I had some pressure coming in as a reigning world champion and I felt it,” Lysacek said. “To be able to go out and silence all of that really felt good.”

Weir is sixth and will need help to even get on the podium, trailing Japan’s Daisuke Takahashi by 8.15 points for the third spot. He was so edgy heading into competition that Weir broke out the cleaning spray at the apartment he shares with ice dancer Tanith Belbin in the athletes’ village.

“Last night I was nervous, so I Pledged everything,” he said. “Some people eat, some people drink, some people smoke. I Pledge.”

… Weir isn’t concerned about challenging Plushenko. He didn’t consider himself a medals possibility when he arrived in Vancouver, even though he’s won three U.S. titles and, as recently as 2008, took world bronze.

“I actually had fun tonight, and that’s something I haven’t been able to say for a long time,” said Weir, who quit for a few weeks last spring after bombing so badly at the U.S. championships he failed to make the world team. “I felt like I really showed my heart.”

You did, Johnny. You did.

Also, what PJ said.

What do you think? Share!

