So… I Bought a House in Hampden, Hon

Where have I been since before the holiday break – IN DECEMBER? What have I been up to? Why have I been so MIA? WHY HAVEN’T I UPDATED MY BLOG?!?!?! Believe me – I’ve heard all three (maybe four) of you asking me these questions, wondering why I could barely spare a second to update my blog? 

Well, since I’M 30 (THIRTY) YEARS OLD NOW (today!), I suppose I can spill the beans. It won’t be exciting to you at all, unless you happen to live in uber-bawlmer, super-hip, kitsch, john-watersy, and hon-i-fied HAMPDEN, Baltimore, Maryland… Because that’s where this chica just bought a house!!! 

Word. 

Hampden Mosaic

Hampden Mosaic

1. elvis lives, 2. Miracle on 34th Street in Hampden 2006, 3. Hampden, 4. Hampden Flamingo 

I’m going to back up and say that I haven’t technically bought the house yet – I don’t close until the end of February – but the sellers did accept my offer and the ball has been rolling forward since that glorious day in early January when the Ravens beat the Patriots (just to fall to the hands of those nasty Colts). But goodness… buying a house takes up 160 percent of one’s time, doesn’t it? Who knew? Not me… this is my first home. Couple that with my busiest work month of the year, and a side project I took on before I knew I’d have no time due to a house purchase, and dang. I have been so busy, I didn’t know which end was up. But it’s ok, because I bought a home! 

I love saying that. Typing it, too. 

Anyway, I’m a big girl now, and I’m here to tell the rest of my friends that have yet to turn 30 (why am I always the first?)… 30 feels great. My life is great. I have everything to be happy and excited about, and for the first time in a while, I am! Hooray for birthdays and optimism (and chewy sweet tarts)! 

Since I also own approximately zero pieces of furniture (actual calculation) – I live in a very small studio now, remember? – I will be trying my best to document my decoration process… and more importantly – asking for help. Delight by Design, I’m looking at you. You, too, Apartment Therapy

So let me start of asking a question: Do any of you have any design blogs that you’d recommend for me? I’m ready to get my creative juices flowing!

5 thoughts on “So… I Bought a House in Hampden, Hon

  1. Congratulations! Buying a house is so exciting–and decorating is even more so. We have a mix of “grown up” furniture and IKEA pieces in our house. I like the contrast.

    So are you going to be living in Baltimore and commuting to DC?

  2. congratulations and happy birthday! what a great start to 30!

    apartmenttherapy in one of my favs of course. i also like younghouselove. they own a house in richmond and do so much diy. it’s very inspiring and i can’t wait to have a place use my toolbox!

    i love this stuff! my latest project was building a massive tufted headboard. i think i might post some photos on facebook.

    anyway, all the best!

  3. GREAT site, nerdette. Thanks! And you best believe I’ll be beehive’d out. There’s a contest every summer during “Honfest” that I totally intend to enter… one day.

    PJ – Yes… I’ll be commuting. I’m close to the train station, and I’m actually looking forward to the extra time in the morning to read!

    Leslie – I’d never heard of younghouselove, thanks for the new treat! Did you actually make your own headboard? WOW. Post pictures and share, share, share!

  4. We were just talking about how you are drawn to the color teal, right?! If I am remembering this correctly, you have to get the new Crate and Barrel and CB2 catalogs. They both, although especially CB2, have a crazy amount of teal. Just wanted to pass along!

What do you think? Share!

