The Muppets Take On “Bohemian Rhapsody”

Everyone else is posting it, why can’t I?

The Muppets mean a lot to me. I grew up with:

A mom who consistently dressed like Miss Piggy for Halloween for years before I was born – and for years after.

A Dad who could always be counted on to laugh uncontrollably at the “Do not like your jokes!” (around the 2:32 mark) guys – Statler and Waldorf. His favorite part of the Muppet Vision 3-D at Disney’s MGM Studios (in sunny Orland, FL!) – and mine too – is the following:

Waldorf: Do we have time to go to the bathroom before the next show?
Statler: We can’t, you old fool! We’re bolted to the seats!

He repeats that all the time, usually when it’s least-relevant to the situation we’re in. We also enjoy the following exchanges from Muppet Vision 3-D:

Statler: This is a very moving moment.
Waldorf: Yeah. I wish they’d move it to Pittsburgh.

I’m sure that one is self-explanatory, from my POV. Also enjoyable:

Statler: Hey, look! Look at the guy in the Goofy mask!
Waldorf: That’s not a mask.
Statler: Oh. Sorry, lady.

This is really making me want to go back to Disney World.

One final memory I’ll share before I lose your attention entirely: “Rainbow Connection” was my favorite audition song for a good while. Kermit the Frog – what a dear. It came after “You’re Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile“*** from Annie! (duh) and before “What I did for Love” from A Chorus Line. Annnnd, because I’m sure inquiring minds are dying to know, my final audition song before I hung up the ruby slippers was “Someone Else’s Story” from Chess.

Uhhh, anyway… What’s your favorite part? Mine is the palm-to-the-face from Sam the Eagle (around the 3:28 mark). LOVES IT!

*** Ironically, this song is performed by the character Molly who, no joke, looks like my twin. Seriously, at age five, I looked just like her, minus the orphanage living… though I am adopted, so it’s not too far of (YES IT IS, I never lived in an orphanage, but you get where I’m going). In fact, when I was little and watched this movie – on VHS – on repeat, I somehow started believe that it WAS me that was in the movie… and so naturally, I told all my pre-school friends. Oops. Whatever.

Oh – and can we discuss Carol Burnett as Ms. Hannigan? GOLD. “Do I hear… happiness… in here?”

What do you think? Share!

