The King and I & Uncle Tom’s Cabin

I’m a huge fan of this movie for many of the obvious reasons: Yul Brynner, Rogers and Hammerstein, a far-east setting, and dancing/singing children. But one thing I really enjoy about this movie musical is that there is a play-within-a-movie: Uncle Tom’s Cabin.

The King and I provided me with my first encounter with Uncle Tom’s Cabin, and it was so powerful that I immediately had to go to the public library and find out more about this Harriet Beecher Stowe book. If I had the internet, it would have been so much easier. But I’m glad it wasn’t, because it was through this book that I became obsessed with the Civil War and President Lincoln… who is rumored to have said the following upon meeting Harriet Beecher Stowe:

“So this is the little lady who made this big war.”

What do you think? Share!

