Wednesday Night’s Alright for Cooking

I’m not the world’s best cook, so I’m just going to throw that out there. Sure, I can bake, and my guac-a-molly is world famous (or at the v. least, DC-metro-region famous), but none of those things involve the actual art of cooking. Certainly I’ve been making wild strides in the cooking department lately – I never miss Top Chef (Carla was robbed!) and I’m definitely a foodie (LL said so!) – but a cook I am not.

Last night was different. Last night I was inspired by my thoroughly awful day at work* to go home, have a quick workout (nothing too dramatic, just a couple minutes on the StairMaster to workout my aggression), and cook dinner. So I turned to DC Striving for recipe ideas, and she referred me to a pasta-broccoli-walnuts recipe she had blogged about earlier. Brilliant!

It came from Real Simple magazine so, for all intents and purposes, I was hoping it was… well… real simple. Thankfully, it was! And so delicious. I can only hope this inspires culinary experiments to come.

yummy

yummy

 

* It’s suddenly very clear to me why one should NEVER blog about their job… If I were to blog it yesterday, I would surely be fired today.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Night’s Alright for Cooking

  1. I discovered your blog after you added yourself to the blogroll at BlogHer.com (I write for them on singles & fitness-related topics). As a fellow DC-area resident (Old Town Alexandria), I wanted to say hello!

    As for the dinner…good for you! It looks delicious. And “quick” makes it even better! My problem with cooking is that I don’t like to do it when I’m only cooking for myself (which ends up being most of the time), so most of the time I just end up eating cereal or something. That’s so bad! 🙂

  2. Hi Zandria – Thanks for the comment! I’ve been sick (see post above) so it’s taken me a while to get back to you.

    I have the same problems with cooking… but I’m not letting that be an excuse anymore. My goal is simply to cook once a week. Sounds easy, but for me it’s so not…

What do you think? Share!

