Jackie Bouvier Kennedy Onassis is my Tinkerbell

My mom has always reminded me of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis (JBKO, for the GW peeps) – the beautiful, quiet and charming wife of President John F. Kennedy. There really is no rhyme or reason to it. Mostly, I think they look alike:

2882969170_1dd552ac63

What a classy lady.

Apart from that, and a shared love of Aquinnah and other Cape Cod destinations, there isn’t too much they have in common. And yet my childhood was full of Jackie-inspired activities including, but certainly not limited to, a five-time visit to the Corcoran Gallery of Art’s “Jacqueline Kennedy: The White House Years” exhibit. In case you were wondering, yes – that’s a lot. But I loved every second.

So the beautifully stunning pictures below, taken by photographer Mark Shaw, provided me with a cozy taste of home today… a taste I desperately needed:

If Hyannis Port was Fenwick Island, this would be me and my mom.

If Hyannis Port was Fenwick Island, this would be me and my mom.

The very definition of "mommy."

The very definition of "mommy."

See how her hair gets curly while beach-side? My mom is the same way.

See how her hair gets curly while beach-side? My mom is the same way.

I must be missing my Tinkerbell (the pet name my mom and I use for each other), because the sweetness of these pictures makes me wanna cry.

(H/t to Domestic Reflections and Villa Pacis for the pictures, and DC Striving for the inspired post idea!)

What do you think? Share!

