Oscar Night!

Oscar Eve – Red Carpet, originally uploaded by mikewakin.

It should shock no one to learn that I’m watching the Oscars today – and can’t freaking wait for the games to begin. Sadly, a nasty cold? flu? virus? is keeping me from RZ’s Oscar-watching party, but I really can’t be around people right now. Ick.

The red carpet is still on, and I’ve already been beyond impressed with the ladies… Kate Winslet! Natalie Portman! Penelope Cruz! Anne Hathaway! Taraji P. Hensen! Miley Cyrus (yeah – I said it)! Angelina Jolie! I’m even loving the ones the E! crew doesn’t like.

And Beyonce? Bad dress, per usual. That, at least, makes me feel a wee bit better.

My predictions (not who I think will win, but who I want to win/who I’d pick to win based on nate silver, watching the movies, and reading reviews):

Best Picture: Milk
Best Actor: Mickey Rourke
Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger
Best Actress: Kate Winslet
Best Supporting Actress: Penelope Cruz
Best Director: Danny Boyle

I’m excited for Hugh Jackman, which I know many aren’t… I hope he kills it like he did the Tony’s a few years back!

Oy… upset stomach. Gotta run.

What do you think? Share!

