Thoughts on the 2009 Grammy Awards

These are just my thoughts. They don’t have to be yours. Just so you know.

THE WINNERS

Radiohead on the Grammy’s? KILLED IT. That performance was so DEAD, I don’t even know where to start. Inspired, reinvented, new and yet familiar. Well done, shaggy-haired Thom Yorke and company.

What’s wrong with me that I immediately downloaded “fifteen” by Taylor Swift after watching Taylor and Miley Cyrus perform it? Aww the heck with it, I don’t care. It rocked, and I’m ashamed.

And holy meatballs… is T.I. hot, or is T.I. hot? How come I never noticed before?

Speaking of balls (that was for you, KC), I got a kick out of totes preggers M.I.A. She rocked it like there wasn’t a baby in her uterus. Or wherever those suckers are for nine months.

Kanye West, Lil Wayne, M.I.A. and Jay-Z performed at the 51st annual Grammy Awards

Kanye West, Lil Wayne, M.I.A. and Jay-Z performed at the 51st annual Grammy Awards

(Photo source: Mark J. Terrill/Associated Press)

Obviously my Coldplay boys were phenom, but the Jay-Z appearance with Chris Martin? Icing.

Chris and Jay

Chris and Jay

And speaking of Jay-Z… he and the “rap pack” nailed it in their black-and-white performance… or as the NYT blog, artsbeat, called it, “an otherwise excellent rap summit.”

THE LOSERS

I’m over U2 for a while. They bugged me at the “We are One” concert at the Lincoln Memorial (go Inauguration 2009!), and the annoyed me tonight. They’re in a time-out for a while.

Carrie Underwood’s song, “Last Name” was HOT! People were totally rocking out (and by people, I mean me). But those granny-disco sleeves on her dress? Gross and distracting.

Nicole Kidman. For real. You are only there because you married some dude that’s an Aussie but pretends he’s a Nashville-native. And then, during Jennifer Hudson’s incredible, INCREDIBLE performance and subsequent standing O, you have the nerve to keep trying to sit down hours before the audience was ready? For shame.

Katy Perry (riding in on her phallic banana) did not, in fact, kiss a girl. Or wear heels. But mostly didn’t kiss a girl. This made me sad.

What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on the 2009 Grammy Awards

  1. So I secretly rock out to Katy on my Ipod, but I have seen her 2 times on TV now and she CANNOT carry a tune. She is so off-key it is painful. Ugh. Should I remove her?

What do you think? Share!

