Meridian Hill Park, DC and Schmap

I read a while ago about Somewhere In Middle America’s experience with getting Schmap’d, and it sounded pretty awesome. So imagine my surprise when I got Schmap’d, too! The picture above will be featured in the newly released sixth edition of the Schmap Washington DC Guide, in the Adams Morgan section:

Hi mollytics,

I am delighted to let you know that your submitted photo has been selected for inclusion in the newly released sixth edition of our Schmap Washington DC Guide:

Meridian Hill Park

Thanks so much for letting us include your photo – please enjoy the guide!

Best regards,

Emma Williams,
Managing Editor, Schmap Guides

Easy-peasy. I think I just got lucky, because a photographer, I am not. But I was proud of the picture… right down to the raindrop on my lens. Still, I remember exactly how I ended up with this picture, and it’s such a lovely memory, I wanted to share.

It was late June, and I’d just returned from quite possibly one of the best weekends ever. Yes, it was in New England (go figure). I was back in DC by 10 a.m. Monday morning, and had taken the day off so I had nothing to do but relax. After a quick afternoon nap (those are the best), I looked outside my window and gasped at the lovely double rainbow. Was this for serious? It was so beautiful I couldn’t barely stop looking long enough to grab my camera.

I’m glad I did, and the rest is history.

My guess is that they just flickr-surf for pictures of a specific area, because that’s how I was contacted. It sounds v. cool.

So thank you, Schmap. You totally made my day.

One thought on “Meridian Hill Park, DC and Schmap

  1. Pingback: DC #snopocoalypse update numero uno « Mollytics!

What do you think? Share!

