I’m a cherry ghost

I saw Wilco on Sunday. I saw Wilco Sunday and I swear it changed my life. I feel this way every single time I see them live, and the feeling never lessons of fades. It’s amazing.

Because Sunday was one of the best days of my life – no joke, ask The Cobra – I had to race from the Ravens game (the-game-that-shall-not-be-mentioned you effing Steelers!) to the Lyric for the Wilco show. It was a good problem to have, but still a problem. NO COMPLAINTS.

Anyway, because it was a mad dash to the finish, I didn’t have time to stop by the car to grab my camera. Boy did I live to regret that decision because my seat was kick-ass. So here is a lovely mosaic I made from other people’s pictures:

palace of wilco wonders

palace of wilco wonders

1. Wilco Baltimore December 2008 X, 2. Wilco Baltimore December 2008 III, 3. Wilco at The Lyric 12/14/08, 4. Wilco at The Lyric 12/14/08

I’m thankful other people had their cameras, but in my opinion, the best pictures come courtesy of the Brandon Wu photography blog, so you should definitely head over here to check them out. Thankfully, Brandon also wrote up a lil somethin’ somthin’ for the Washington City Paper blog:

The set list was great, with the highlight for me being “I Am Trying to Break Your Heart,” in which the noisy outro segued smoothly into a blistering rendition of “Spiders (Kidsmoke).” Nice to hear them still playing their more out-there material. I think these two were then followed by the unrelentingly melodic “Hummingbird,” in which Cline makes his guitar, and many people in the audience, weep.

I don’t agree with all he says, but I do agree with the graph above.

The Cobra’s favorite of the night was “Spiders (Kidsmoke)” but for me, it was a tie between “Kingpin” and “Impossible Germany” – a song I love more and more the more I hear it live. It’s dizzy and romantic. I’m sure Tweedy sings it just for me, whatever that means.

Muzzle of Bees also has a great write-up of the show in which Ryan lists one of my most favorite Jeff Tweedy moments:

4. “I’ve watched all 5 seasons of The Wire in the past 6 days” – After butchering the lyrics to “Jesus, Etc,” Tweedy confesses that he’s been on a binge of the HBO hit series The Wire. He admits to wondering if Omar or McNulty are in the crowd, causing him to lose place during the song. (Update: video here)

Lovely. More reviews are here and here.

Anyway, this cherry ghost is really happy she got to see Wilco for the fourth time, and can’t wait to see them again… With or without the neck brace (see picture above and #8 here).

One thought on “I’m a cherry ghost

  1. Pingback: Wilco on CBS Sunday Morning « Mollytics!

What do you think? Share!

