So, what are you reading?

I’ve been searching for a good way to ask people about what they’re reading these days. I love the act of reading and I love learning about, finding, buying, displaying and finally reading books more – something the piles and piles of books around my tiny BUT LOVELY studio can attest to.

These are not my books, but they are still pretty.

These are not my books, but they are still pretty.

Anyway, I saw this little game below on FabFeminist‘s facebook page, and thought I might try and adapt it for my blog.

Rules:

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post that sentence along in the comments section below. Don’t forget to include the title of the book and the author.

I hope you’ll take a moment to share your current read!

I’ll go first:

“My mother of course saw clean into the marrow of those dreams, and laughed.”
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz

Touche.

Your turn.

5 thoughts on “So, what are you reading?

  1. “Remember kids,” he tells them sternly[,] “don’t shoot each other.”

    House of Leaves, by Mark D. Danielewski
    (this is actually a combination of 2 sentences; it just made more sense.)

  2. “Perfect hair, perfect makeup, and a great bag. Admittedly, not all the women looked quite like that, but even the ones who didn’t looked like they were trying.”

    Swapping Lives, by Jane Green

    (also a combo of two sentences)

  3. “Cut the flesh into 1/2 inch chunks.”

    This could be a seriously disturbing book… but it’s not.

    The Complete Italian Vegetarian Cookbook, Jack Bishop

  4. “And having answered so I turn once more to those
    who sneer at this my city, and I give them back
    the sneer and say to them:
    Come and show me another city with lifted head
    singing so proud to be alive and coarse and strong
    and cunning.”

    Carl Sandburg, “Chicago” in Poetry Speaks

  5. Wow. My readers are so interesting and smart… I have to say, Amber, until I realized it was a cookbook, I was a little concerned.

What do you think? Share!

